At the moment I am not satisfied with the ICSOFT 2011. There are at least as many bad as good speakers. And with bad I mean bad, as those speakers apparently don’t have any idea how to prepare and to hold a presentation: overloaded slides, bad english (even worse than mine), to name a few problems. I mean, I can understand if one is totally excited (I was this myself before the talk) but a serious preparation can help.

What makes the situation even worse is the lack of audience. I participated in sessions (a serious of presentations) where besides the session chair (person who is responsible for the organisation of the session) and the speakers only 2 more people listened to the talks (fortunately that happened not in my session, though the audience was still too small, so one cannot be satisfied). I mean, one is on a conference to get feedback on his/her results and thoughts but how can this work if nobody is there to give feedback?

The good thing is that many interesting and nice people from many countries in the world are attending the conference. But this won’t be like that next year as some have already expressed doubts regarding their participation in the future.