It’s very unfortunate that I produced my first Windows 7 bluescreen by using Windows Backup & Restore utility. What I tried to do is to backup my data to a network location, which was a Samba server hosting some space for that purpose.

The problem is reproduceable and didn’t occure the first time I saved my data, so I decided to switch to my external hard drive to avoid the issue. Unfortunately, the Backup & Restore utility didn’t recognize my storage which needs to be mounted because it’s a Truecrypt encrypted device.

To overcome this issue I created a folder on my external hard drive and shared it as network location. This done it was easy to create a link to this new “network location” and to start a new attempt. It worked the first time and I’m curious to see if it’ll work in the future too.