Today I published my first results regarding Pixmap based animation in Gtk+ on the gtk-devel-list and on bugzillaAlberto already posted my small demo video but I guess it would be a shame if I wouldn’t have it on my own blog.😉 So here it is…

What can you expect now? Even though there is already a visible result this is far from being complete. But that is not the intention at the moment. It is more a proof of concept, an attempt to show what is possible when we try to animate the pixmap representation of a widget instead of the widget itself (e.g. by manipulating the allocation data). Having said this I have to admit that this is not even complete. There are still a lot of problems to solve until we can think about getting something like this or similar things into Gtk+. But we have to start somewhere and we have to discuss suitable approaches. That is the reason why I already published my results.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed the video and maybe you’ll join the discussion on the devel list or on bugzilla. There is still a lot of work to do!🙂

Cheers!